Pregnancy Update: Month 5

Man, this whole weeks into months thing is confusing as hell. According to my prenatal journal thingie and some pages on the interwebs, I am now in my 6th month. So, yeah. Guess it’s time for an update?

22weeks

A peek at month 5: Month 5 wasn’t an easy one. I had a lot of anxiety surrounding the baby (why can’t I feel baby yet? Is baby ok?), and my nausea came back abruptly, joined by heartburn, an eczema flare up, pelvic and hip pain, and insomnia. Weeeee. Oh, and my oven caught fire randomly while I was prepping dinner, causing me a great deal of stress and more strain on our finances. Amazingly, one of my co-workers and good friends saved the day and generously helped us get a new stove! Nesting ramped up, making me desperate to get things started in prepping for baby. Thankfully, it marked hitting the half way point and we also got to find out baby’s sex at an ultrasound! Woo!

And the ultrasound says….

ultrasound2oweeks

572d26a30811f6aa1c2d02cbb49a7bc3

How far along am I right now? 22 weeks, 6 days. In my 6th month.

I am thinking…About baby names! We had River picked out for a girl, but nothing that we both love for a boy! Ruh roh.

I am thankful for…My job and my friends. The amount of kindness, understanding and generosity that they have shown us has been incredible.

I am creating…Started on a little gnome hat, but didn’t enjoy working in such a small gauge. I think I will maybe move on to Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Surprise Baby Jacket and some baby mittens. I am worried In Threes may be a little too femme for a boy. Thoughts?

I am going…to keep working at keeping our house tidy and sorting through our crap. Decluttering is my life.

I am hoping…that we find a name that we both love

Around the house…Even though it technically falls under month 6, I have to talk about it. My dear friend and neighbour, Anna, came over and helped me clean, declutter and organize our entire main floor. We now have a play room where our dining room used to be, a kitchen we can actually use and a family room that doesn’t feel like a bomb exploded. I love it!

Liam's new playroom

Liam’s new playroom

One of my favorite things…Cheese and fanta. Don’t judge me.

Weight Gain: More than 20lbs :D

Baby in the Produce World:  Baby Centre says baby is as big as spahgetti squash
Week22SpaghettiSquash_424x302
 Movement/Signs of the Baby: A few flutters here and there before the ultrasound. Around week 21 that changed and suddenly I feel more movement and stretching. Baby doesn’t kick and punch like his brother did, but is definitely an active little dude when he wants to be.

Cravings and Aversions: These days I’m craving dairy, mostly cheese. I also find myself craving comfort foods, like soups, stews and chowders. The only new aversion I seem to have is to Jane’s Chicken Nuggets, which happen to be one of the only things Liam will eat. Ugh.
Body Changes/Weirdness: Heartburn, bad eczema, bad hair. Ugh.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I am so curious to see what this baby looks like and what his personality is. He seems to be different from his brother already :)
Other Pictures from the 5th month:

Leave a Reply

