Pregnancy Update: End of Month 6, Beginning of 7 – Bye Bye 2nd Trimester!

What a freaking month. The 2nd Trimester definitely went out with a bang.

27 Weeks

27 Weeks

A peek at month 6: So, my 6th month started with some bleeding. This, my friends, was not a good start. Baby and I are fine, but it ended up causing a whole bunch of stress. I am RH-. What this means, is if my blood mixes with baby’s, my body will create antibodies to fight the foreign blood, and the baby could be harmed as a result. As with Liam’s pregnancy, I was told to go call in right away if I had spotting, and any more than that, I should go to the ER.

As I am in shared care with my GP and an OB, I first called my OB and found out he was on vacation. His receptionist was awesome and immediately calmed me down. I then gave Triage at the hospital a call, and they told me to rest up. The most they would do at this point is just monitor the heart beat and potentially give an ultrasound. They recommended seeing my own doctor first if I was worried. So, I called the GP and immediately she launched into THIS IS NOT A DRILL! PANIC PANIC PANIC GET THEE TO A HOSPITAL mode. So, I called triage again and they were confused by the freak out. They assured me bleeding is common and because of the small amount, the best thing I could do is rest and monitor baby’s movements from home. They said I could come in any time if I was nervous, but that it wasn’t necessary. So, I stayed home and took some time off work. I had no more bleeding and felt pretty ok, so I figured the situation was resolved.

NOPE! Cue further panic and now anger from GP about the way triage and my OB handled things. I was sent for an ultrasound to make sure everything was ok.

And the ultrasound says….

babyMusat26weeks

Though it was a nerve-wracking hour long ultrasound, complete with OB visit due to potential issues, everything looks great. Baby is a big healthy boy. This whole situation made me annoyed at the lack of communication and the varying responses, so I switched to full care with my OB. All of this pretty much spanned the entire month. I just switched to my OB last week.

So, aside from that drama, we finally picked a name (I will refer to Baby as Baby M from now on. The name won’t be announced for a little while. Sorry!) and we started arranging things around the house for baby stuff. The crib is set up in our room.

Small nightstand with diapers and sleepers. Crib set up beside the bed.

Small nightstand with diapers and sleepers. Crib set up beside the bed.

I was generously gifted a beautiful glider. I have started washing and sorting all the baby clothes. The hospital bag is in the works and I am now working on getting my diapers set up.

glider

Liam and I are currently fighting bad colds, which means no sleep here. I am living in support belts or my ring slings, as my hip, belly, back and pelvic pain is constant now. I am in the process of getting my shots to deal with my RH- status and I am waiting on my glucose test results.

How far along am I right now? 28 weeks. Third trimester just started!!

I am thinking…About everything else we have to arrange. Who will care for Maddie and Cole? When should I start prepping my freezer meal stash?

I am thankful for…The steadfast people in our lives.

I am creating…Nothing. All the stress of month 6 put all of my knitting and crafting aside. Thinking about maybe making a mobile for baby, but that’s about it.

I am going…to lose my mind trying to make it to all of these appointments while also managing a very emotional 3 year old.

I am hoping…that health drama calms down and we finish things out calmly and nicely.

Around the house…The new playroom has been a huge hit! I have sorted out all of the baby clothes into sizes and washed them. I have also organized all of the baby toys we still have from Liam. I am in the process of prepping diapers (My friend S still has a bunch of my stash, but I have been organizing the stuff I do have into sizing, prepping the new stuff, bleaching and washing stuff I have bought second hand or leant out to other friends. Next I will stuff/organize and set up by size).

One of my favorite things…This crazy expensive soda I found at the grocery store. It’s an extra dry vanilla pop. It’s super bubbly, not too sweet and super tasty.

Weight Gain: With all the health stuff, I have lost a bit. I am currently sitting between 15-20lbs

Baby in the Produce World:  Baby Centre says baby M is now as big as a large eggplant (at 28 weeks)
Week28Eggplant_424x302
 Movement/Signs of the Baby: Kiddo really really amped up his movements in month 6. He is an active little dude. Differing than his brother in one way though, instead of hiding when people try to feel him move, he just calms right down and stops moving all together. This means poor Daddy has really only felt the smallest nudge, but that’s it.

Cravings and Aversions: Craving chocolate and sweet things, but that’s about it. Fell in love with Apple Cinnamon Cheerios. Soooooo good. Still hating Jane’s chicken nuggets.
Body Changes/Weirdness: More aches and pains, weird nerve pain in my legs, my calves keep cramping up and baby feels super low a lot.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: How on earth am I going to manage the sleep deprivation with such an active preschooler?
Other Pictures from the 6th month:

Leave a Reply

