Review: October Ipsy Glam Bag

Theme: Alter-Ego

Bag: Gold and Black, perfect for Halloween without being too cheesy.

ipsyoctober1

The Loot:

Eva NYC Therapy Session Hair Mask

This is the perfect time of year for a hair mask. We are starting to get temps in the minuses, with dry heat inside. My poor locks have been a mess since I stopped dying it. I really liked the scent of the mask. I didn’t need very much to treat my hair, though I was expecting it to feel a bit more like a conditioner. My hair felt lovely after the treatment, but I can’t say that it made any significant difference after one use. Will keep using it over the next while (once a week or so) and see if it actually does help.

Peter Lamas Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub

As with the first leaf changing from green to yellow or red, the mighty pumpkin has arrived as a herald of fall. Pumpkin everything is everywhere, so it makes sense that Ipsy would send something out that has pumpkin in it. I was a bit nervous about trying this because I am in the middle of a bad eczema flare up on my face and pumpkin isn’t super hydrating or calming for me. I was brave in the name of beauty, and gave it a shot anyway. I found the grains a little too harsh for my liking, and honestly, I didn’t feel super in love with the formula otherwise. It’s ok, and definitely fun for a seasonal thing, but not something I see myself using again.

The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long Lasting Lipstick

Matte lipstick is everywhere right now, so I was excited to give it a shot. That said, with my current eczema outbreak, I was worried about the state of my lips ruining the effect. So, I prepped. I exfoliated, moisturized and primed. The lipstick itself goes on smoothly and softly, and then dries into a matte finish. Unfortunately, the first time I used it, it completely dried out my lips to the point that my poor lips were flaking. The second time, I used a more hardcore moisturizer first and it did make a difference. Sadly, it also caused the lipstick to fade much more quickly, leaving me with what looked like lip liner. The colour wasn’t quite right for me. It was slightly too orange for my skin tone, so it’s not one I see myself reaching for, even with my lips in better shape. The packaging is super cute, but the sample size is very tiny.

Me wearing the lipstick, before getting to work

Me wearing the lipstick, before getting to work

it Cosmetics Hello Lashes Clincally proven 5-in-1 mascara

This was my only win this month. I really enjoy the packaging, and the wand made application easy (though I will say it felt a bit flimsy). The formula is great and did make a big difference in my lashes. No flaking or clumping, and lasted despite my weepy eyes thanks to allergies. Will keep using, for sure! One thing: Be careful not to get this in your eye. It burns like hell and will take forever to stop.

Don't mind me, just taking a picture of my eyes at work.

Don’t mind me, just taking a picture of my eyes at work.

Emite Make Up Professional slant tweezers

I’m not sure I needed new tweezers, but maybe now I will have an extra set for when my hubby steals my usual pair. This ones worked great, grabbing on to the hair nicely and allowing me to really get into my brow angles without ripping out large patches tragically. Good set of tweezers.

Over-all Review of the Bag: Honestly, I’m not super impressed. The theme didn’t really mesh with the products. Alter-Ego/Halloween would have made more sense with some naturals paired with some crazy fun stuff. These all felt pretty blah to me, even without considering the formulas that didn’t work for me. I would have loved some crazy eyeshadow colours, some crazy lashes or a bright extreme lipcolour. Something out there, you know? Looking at the specific products, I was pretty disappointed all over the board. They weren’t good for my sensitive dry skin, and the size of the samples were pretty little this time around. Sorry ipsy, it wasn’t love this month.

Sorry for the blurry at work pictures. I'm 8 months pregnant and sick. The only time I get makeup on my face these days is when I have to look presentable. ;)

Sorry for the blurry at work pictures. I’m 8 months pregnant and sick. The only time I get makeup on my face these days is when I have to look presentable. ;)

One thought on “Review: October Ipsy Glam Bag

Leave a Reply

