Pregnancy Update: Month 8

8months

A peek at month 8: Hormones are in high gear this month. I’m very moody, restless, emotional and grumpy. Of course, because timing is awesome, the whole family caught a nasty sinus and chest mancold. So unpleasant. Many sleepless nights and exhausted days.

I started to find work was really hard on my body and Braxton Hicks started to make that known to me. The weekend of Halloween was fun but difficult for me, A long shift at work and lots of activities meant resulted in some bleeding, pressure, pain and a really unhappy worried mom. We ended up seeing the OB to make sure everything was ok and found out that I am overdoing it. Baby M is doing fine, but my body was not pleased with me. He recommended I leave work as soon as we could afford it, and so, my mat leave started a whole month early with Halloween being the last day I worked.

Timing ended up working in our favour as Pat has hopefully snagged a part time job to get us through me not qualifying for mat leave pay. Unfortunately, this means he will be working like 70 hours a week and I will be on my own with two kiddos during that time. Eep. Also, we booked Baby M’s eviction date. Because of my previous C-Section, my induction options are limited, and with the holidays being a pain for scheduling, we were booked for my Just In Case C-Section on Christmas Eve. So weird having a date where I know M will be here, no matter what.

How far along am I right now? 36 Weeks (9 months)

I am thinking…About how close we are now! How I’m going to handle this whole stay at home mom thing. How I can’t wait for my upcoming baby shower. I miss seeing all my friends together <3

I am thankful for…Our amazing health care system that allows me to get checked out even when we are pretty sure everything is ok but just want to double check.

I am creating…Not much. I don’t have much energy these days and my body is so sore.

I am going…to try and rest, despite my insane nesting urge to constantly clean and organize.

I am hoping…that baby M arrives well before his Christmas eviction date.

Around the house…trying not to overdo it, which has been proving to be difficult. My goals right now are to get on top of laundry and clean out our deep freezer so that we have room for freezer meals.

One of my favorite things…Halloween treats. Yum!

Weight Gain: Somewhere around 25lbs?

Baby in the Produce World:  Baby Centre says baby M is now as big as a head of romaine lettuce. That seems big. Eep. (36 weeks)
 Movement/Signs of the Baby: Holy, this kid has not been gentle on my insides. I swear he’s trying to claw and punch his way out. With Liam, I joked that he was a tiny ninja or dancer. This kiddo is hulk. He wakes me up with his jabs, and I have definitely felt pain at some of his movements. He moves around a lot. He is head down, and goes from low to high, curled up to stretched WAY out.

Cravings and Aversions: Chips and onion dip, cereal with milk and sugar, chocolate bars.
Body Changes/Weirdness: I think I’ve started to lose my mucous plug. Discharge is gross and frequent and man, do I hurt ALL the time. I feel like a rotisserie chicken with the amount of turning I have to do during the night due to sore hips (even with my snoogle). Bending is becoming very difficult (and sometimes impossible), depending on where baby is located. Also, peeing. Kid sometimes makes it impossible for me to pee. Ugh.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I am going to try to post more frequently as we get closer to the date, but I’m not sure it’s going to work out. We’ll have to wait and see. Basically, with all of my symptoms, baby could come at any time.

Leave a Reply

