Review: November Ipsy Glam Bag

Theme: Beauty Blast

Bag: The cosmos! Man, I love this bag. It’s gorgeous. The colours are perfect.

novipsy1

The Loot:

 

China Glaze in Travel in Colour

This is the one item I haven’t had a chance to try yet. My baby shower was a trip to a fantastic nail spa, so I wasn’t about to ruin my professionally done nails for the sake of a review. Sorry <3 I will say the colour kind of looks meh to me. It’s sort of a yellowy base which I hope dries more clear. The shimmer is gorgeous though. It’s pink, blue and purple iridescence. I love it. Once my nails are done I’ll give it a shot and let you know what I think.

 

 

Crown Brush Deluxe Pointed Crease Brush

I was actually excited about this one. Mama loves her brushes and I love playing with colours in my crease. Unfortunately this one felt a little cheap to me. The size was just a wee bit too small and the bristles were just a little too flimsy.

Smashbox Cosmetics Full Exposure Mascara

I have received this before and enjoyed it, so I was anticipating the same this time. That said, I’ve also tried a fair number of other mascaras since I last used this and honestly, it was just sort of ok. I still prefer my They’re Real or Better Than Sex. It does an ok job, I just felt like I really needed to layer to get oomph. It does do a good job of lengthening and separating though.

Coolway Stronghold Spray

I was actually really happy with this product. I used it on both wet and dry hair for blow drying my bangs, air drying my curls and then touching them up with a curling iron. My hair had great volume and hold. It didn’t quite beat the frizz, but I’m still pretty happy with the results. The fragrance is pretty nice for a hair spray too.

novipsy3

My look, before the gel liner

Beaute Basics Gel Eyeliner with Eyeliner Brush

I was excited about this one when I first saw it was going to be included. I wish it was in black or a metallic. The navy was ok, but it wasn’t quite as dark as I was hoping. Application was ok. The gel was a little thick,  but I figured it out. Unfortunately, my eyes HATED it. I had bad swelling afterwards. Not good. Definitely not going to use it again.

novipsy2

My look, with the gel liner. 

novipsyouch

The next day, no makeup to show you the swelling on my eye. Ouch.

Over-all Review of the Bag: Better than last month, for sure. The bag alone made me happy to receive this month. The products themselves were ok. The sizing of the samples were mostly good. I wish there were more exciting brands, but china glaze and smashbox is a good start considering. I’m bummed that I had a skin reaction, but that happens when you have sensitive skin.

novipsy4

My full look with these products for my Baby Shower

And, a quick note to wrap everything up: I am now 9 months pregnant and could have baby any time. This means I can’t guarentee when or if I will be doing any more ipsy reviews. I haven’t decided how long I’ll keep this subscription either. Once things get settled with baby I will definitely bring back reviews, but please don’t get your hopes up for one next month. I’ll do my best, but family comes first.

Leave a Reply

