Eco Chic Movement – Baby Line. Includes discount code!

Mason just turned 5 months old this week. Can you believe it? I can’t. It goes so fast the second time around (or maybe it’s the sleep deprivation talking).  Thankfully, it means that I have had some time to test out the products that I received from Eco Chic Movement to try from their baby line. For those that missed it, check out my post reviewing their adult line of products here.

As I mentioned there,  Eco Chic Movement is a fantastic company headed by Dr. Alexis Reid – a chemical engineer, pharmacologist, toxicologist and naturopathic doctor here in Ottawa. I came across their baby line while working at Belly Laughs and really enjoyed it. When they gave me the opportunity to try a selection of their products, I was all over that!

So, their baby line is the line of products I’m most familiar with, simply because I sold them at Belly Laughs and use them at home. Let’s get to my review, shall we?

Baby Lotion

I’m very careful about using lotions on my kids because they have sensitive skin (just like their mama). This lotion was created with sensitive skin in mind. It doesn’t sting, it doesn’t have artificial fragrances. Now that Liam is getting a bit older and in to more things, I’ve been finding his hands, knees and elbows are getting dry. He loves using this lotion. It’s gentle, light, absorbs quickly and works great at moisturizing those dry spots. I appreciate that it has a pump, which keeps the product safe from those germy kid hands.

Baby Massage Oil

This is a beautiful product with a bunch of different uses. Mason had bad cradle cap and I was able to use this oil after baths, with a gentle comb scrape along the patches and now he is clear of all cradle cap. We also used it for baby massages (and for mama’s tired shoulders) before bed time. It has a really lovely scent that is really calming.

Diaper Cream

This cream reminds me a lot of the Earth Mama Angel Baby diaper cream that I used with Liam. It has worked wonders for the occasional red bum that Mason has had, and because it has no zinc, I feel comfortable using it with our cloth diapers. Also, it is super gentle and doesn’t upset the baby when we put it on those sore spots. A quick note: Because of the oil content, you may notice some little oil grains in the cream. Just rub the cream between your fingers and the oil will melt and go on baby’s skin smoothly.

Baby Face Cream

This may be one of my favourite products. I use this cream on everything. It’s rich, but gentle (is this the word of the day? I think it may be), and I feel totally fine putting this on Mason’s face when he needs it (he gets dry patches on his cheeks from the wind). I also use it on my face when my eczema flares up. I love the scent and the texture.

ecochicbaby3

Skin Conditions Cream (eczema cream)

I was so excited to see this product. I suffered with eczema my whole life and my parents had nothing but prescription creams to deal with my trouble areas. It’s so great that we have some other options now! Mason, unfortunately, inherited my eczema (though thankfully, not to the same severity). I love having something in my arsenal to fight those flare ups. This cream is specially designed to treat skin conditions, as well as moisturize. It does have a unique odor, due to the natural oils, but it’s worth it when it means your baby gets some relief for the itchiness and discomfort. For the record, I also use this on myself when I flare up and find it helps without stinging. You will notice the area will get a little red, but this is normal.

ecochicbaby3b

Baby Shampoo and Body Wash

I love this product so much. SO MUCH. I have tried so many baby washes and this is the first that doesn’t make my eczema flare up on my hands after bath time. It doesn’t upset Mason’s skin, either. It has a lovely relaxing scent and leaves the skin soft and clean. I love how it dispenses and how it foams up. Sooooo neat.

Sunscreen

This isn’t currently on the website, but you should be able to see it soon. This is a baby safe sunscreen because it’s not a chemical based sunscreen. It’s a natural based sunscreen, with zinc oxide, a physical barrier sunscreen. You will notice that you need to rub it in more, and that it leaves a  bit of a white cast, because it is a physical barrier cream. It’s spf25 and hasn’t ever upset my eczema, unlike many other sunscreens I’ve tried. I will say it doesn’t last super long, but it’s a great option for those who want to use a sunscreen on babies before 6 months and who want a more natural option. For more information, check out Dr. Reid‘s video here.

ecochicbaby2

The only product that I haven’t yet tried yet is the chest congestion rub. If and when I do, I’ll make sure to share my thoughts!

Because I am now an Eco Chic Movement Ambassador, and really love their products, I have a discount code for you!

ecmdiscount

Use when purchasing through their website

Please let me know about what you try. I really hope you love these products as much as I do. By the way, I want you to know that I am not being paid or sponsored to write this post in any way. They did send me the products to try and love the feedback of the community, but I am writing from my own honest experience and opinion. It’s important to me that I be 100% honest with you and make sure you know what’s up :)

Are there any other products that you’d like to see me talk about here? Shoot me a line and let me know!

Leave a Reply

