Beauty and Body

Horseshoes and Haircuts

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently won another contest. Some of you are sighing at me and rolling your eyes, I can tell. Yes, I win a lot of contests. It’s because I enter an insane amount. The one I just won is only kind of a contest. It’s more of an opportunity.

CTV Morning Live is the local news morning show. I used to watch it religiously until we got rid of cable. One of their long standing featured segments is the Monday morning makeovers. They take a nominated guest and have them made over by the local Holtz Spa. I have nominated myself maybe 10 times and didn’t think much of it when I saw a tweet asking for more nominations a couple of weeks ago and responded again. Well, a couple days later I got a reply: I will be on the show, April 7th, from 7-9!

The timing is perfect, really. I had just asked Pat for a trip to the salon for my birthday in June. My poor hair is woefully neglected with money being so tight. I’m leaving my new look up to the stylists, so I’m excited to see what they do with me. In honour of this upcoming change, let’s look at the legacy of my hair:

My Childhood Hair

My hair as a child can be summarized as “Blonde, Curly and large”. My mother had pin straight black hair, so she had no idea what to do with me.

Awkward Teen Hair

In my early teens, my hair was thick, long, curly and blonde. I was super angsty and a bit goth, with an unhealthy obsession with looking like I came from a Waterhouse painting.

Then, I hit my late teens and decided to mix things up. Thus began the cycle of cutting my hair, growing it out, getting annoyed and chopping it off again. This has continued to today.

Short Hair

Longer Hair

I haven’t had many hair colours, to be honest. Maybe they will play with that? I’ve been blonde, brunette, black w/ blue and purple, dark brown, reddish brown and holy crap red.

Coloured Hair

So, there you have it. That’s my hair.

What would you like to see me do next? :)