Beauty and Body, Review, subscription box

REVIEW: October 2017 Boxycharm

Happy autumn everyone!! I am so in love with this weather we’ve been having. Sunny skies, cool breezes and this basic witch is living in her layers and drinking all of the hot beverages.

I am also loving this month’s boxycharm*! Let me tell you about it!

Theme: Spellbound

A quick note on the theme. I honestly think that they don’t really try to match the products with the theme at all, which seems a little pointless to me. Like, why bother having a theme at all if nothing is related? Meh.

IMG_20171017_183059SO EXCITED. I mean, right away you can see this month had a freaking bomb box. Let’s get into what made it so awesome.

ncLA “Nailed It” toolkit (18USD)

Ok, so this isn’t exactly the best thing in the box this month, but I’m still pleased with it. Who doesn’t need a cute little nail kit for their purse or for back up? I will keep this in my diaper bag for those out and about nail breaks that usually result in me chewing my nail down to the quick.

Jonteblu Lip Liner in Brown Sugar (5USD)

jonteblu

When I first pulled this out of the box I was a little disappointed. I thought it was going to be way too brown and dark for me, and that it didn’t make sense paired with the lippie (spoiler!). I was wrong, and I’m not afraid to admit it. This is such a perfect warm chocolatey colour that is sooooo great for this time of year. It is a bit drying,  but it goes on smoothly and does an ok job of sticking around. The colour has made this a favourite in my lip collection. Going to be wearing this a lot!

20171019_093043

 

Tarte Tarteist Quick Dry Matte Paint in Homeslice (20USD).

homeslice

I was so excited to pull this lippie out of the box. The colour looked cute and different from my typical mauvey rosey nudes that I gravitate towards and collect. The formula itself feels quite nice going on and I like the curve in the applicator which hugs the lips nicely. I wish the tip of the applicator was a bit more narrow for a cleaner, more crisp application, but it’s not bad. It goes on smoothly and pretty opaque with no streakiness. It dries very quickly (which was to be expected with that name) and does feel pretty matte and drying. Not my favourite formula this time of year with my really dry lips, but it’s not the most drying liquid lip I’ve tried. It has ok lasting power, but definitely not the best. I got about 3 hours out of it this morning.

The colour ended up being a bit more orangey than I expected, but it’s cute and pretty nice for this time of year. I’m more adventurous with my lip colours these days so I don’t mind it, though I’m not sure it’s super flattering on me. It is very easily influenced by whatever you have underneath, so I have worn it darker and lighter depending on if I pair it with a liner or not. Overall, a decent lippie but not my favourite in the world. I’d rather reach for an Ofra or a Colorpop Ultra Satin.

 

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter in Prosecco Pop (38USD)

proseccopop

You guys, when I saw this in the box I couldn’t believe it. Thanks to Jaclyn Hill and the rest of Youtube, Becca is KNOWN for their highlights. In fact, speaking of Jaclyn, this shade is one of her collabs with Becca (originally limited edition, now permanent). I was pleased to receive the pressed powder version, rather than the liquid, as I don’t tend to use much liquid highlight these days.

The formula is buttery and smooth, with a beautiful wet looking sheen. This one is a bit more subdued than other Becca highlights I’ve tried (Champagne Pop, for instance, is BLINDING. This one? Not so much). I was worried the shade was going to be too dark and yellow for me, but I think after trying it that I can still pull it off (at least during the summer). It definitely isn’t my favourite shade of highlight, but it is still pretty. It applied quite sheer and was buildable, which I like. Overall, the shade is really the only meh for me. I would definitely buy this formula again, maybe in Opal or Moonstone.

22710033_10212745857433231_282289227_n

Dr. Brandt PoreDemabrasion (58USD)

I love getting skincare in my boxycharm because I am always looking to fight the signs of aging but can’t afford to spend much money on it. This gives me the opportunity to try new things without breaking the bank. This is a perfect example of that. Dr. Brandt is an amazing brand that I just can’t afford. I really like this product. The exfoliators are extremely fine and not too abrasive for my sensitive dry skin. It has a lovely smooth creamy texture and a really nice minty scent. I really enjoy using this in the shower, a couple times a week. Haven’t had it long enough to see any difference, but I’ll report back if I do see a big change in my skin.

And that’s it! I can’t wait for this month’s box! Let me know if you guys are interested in seeing spoilers for the next box because I have them!

Leave a comment