Beauty and Body, Daily Life, Uncategorized

2019

The new year. A new beginning, full of opportunities.

2018 was intense. So much so in fact that some of it is a blur to me. It was one of the hardest years of my life. I have thought about making a post a thousand times and even now that I’m here, typing, I have no idea what to say or how to start.

At the end of the summer, my marriage ended. It was such a monumental thing that it is still on going. I’m still in the depths of it. I’m not going to discuss the hows and the whys right now, or maybe even ever, but it has shaken me to my very core and I have been trying to put one foot in front of the other ever since. The kids don’t know, and won’t until things are sorted and basically done, which makes it even harder. We are cohabitating by necessity, which as you can imagine, is not an easy thing.

Through all of this, I saw many people leave my life. It’s strange how some friendships can’t survive hardships. On the other hand, I’ve also had some relationships strengthen and become a lifeline for me. I’ve had some friendships renew and become even stronger than ever before. The people who love me and support me through this are truly lifesavers and family to me.

I have also been given some amazing opportunities. I was in a commercial for a skincare line I truly love and support. While I struggle with some self-love and body acceptance, I have had trouble celebrating how I look in it, but have decided to share it anyway because I am proud.

Heather sits in a chair in front of a fire place, wearing a dark plum shirt, hair half up and wearing neutral makeup.
Heather sits in a chair against a white backdrop. She is wearing a plum shirt and neutral makeup with her hair half up and long bangs framing her face.

I had a friend who didn’t know about the campaign DM me on instagram asking if I had just been on a commercial on youtube. I think it was pretty surreal for both of us.

Another big thing that 2018 brought was my love for bullet journaling and drawing. I really have tried to use my bujo as a way to bring peace, gratitude, organization, and creativity into my life. If anyone is interested, I have lots of pages and spreads on my instagram. I would also be happy to write a post about BuJo and Art journaling if there is interest. I want to try to get back into reviewing makeup too but I am taking baby steps back into blogging. I hope you all understand.

So, now that you know where I’ve been, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for reading, for visiting my humble little home on the internet and for being patient with me while I try to find my way back to myself and through the journey of being a single mom.

2 thoughts on “2019”

  1. Sends like you’re riding a storm atm. I’d love for you to write about art journaling and Bujo. Sending you love and best wishes. X

Leave a comment